the road to wisdom

like a cheese-ball i’m reading paulo coelho’s the pilgrimage a second time in anticipation of my journey.  

my love-affair with coelho began on a road trip with a dear friend.  we took turns reading by the river piedra i sat down and wept aloud to one another as we drove through the expanses of the west.  now it seems that whenever i read a new (at least to me) coelho book my life changes dramatically.  i suppose that’s a massive compliment to an author.  he literally moves me – catapults me into action.  
anyway, i thought i’d share some of the thoughts that stood out to me today as i read.  mind you, i’m only in the first chapter still, so rest assured you’ll see more of his words as i move along.  

Petrus’ identifying factors for the ‘true’ road to wisdom:

  1. the path must involve agape
  2. it must have a practical application in your life (otherwise, wisdom becomes a useless thing and deteriorates, like a sword that is never used)
  3. it must be a path that can be followed by anyone – not just the elite, the highly intelligent, or the shamelessly wealthy

I suppose it’s only right for me to re-read the book that first brought the Road to Santiago into my periphery. i’ve wanted to do the camino ever since. it’s been almost three years since i read the pilgrimage. so much has changed since then. this time next week i’ll be on a train from barcelona to irun to begin the pilgrimage myself.

7 Responses to “the road to wisdom”


  1. 1 ekklesia bg June 4, 2008 at 2:30 am

    Calais,

    We met one time in nashville, tn (at ClimbNashville)(I was with Collin Steiner).

    I have some questions for you:

    1. what do you hope to accomplish on this journey?
    2. is the journey itself of main importance or is the destination the goal?
    3. Will you walk, ride, hitch-hike…?
    4. This isn’t a question, but I’m jealous – have a great trip.

    Terry Shoemaker

  2. 2 ekklesia bg June 4, 2008 at 2:31 am

    Oh yeah, how does agape figure into your journey?

  3. 3 Seth June 5, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    That’s so cool, Calais. I think this is what a Catholic friend of mine in Denver was telling me about. Sounds awesome. I’m not familiar with the book nor the author you mentioned, but I’ll have to check them out. I could go for a good read.

    I’ve been in Jackson for 9 months now, and I’m kind of getting the itch to do some more traveling, as well, but Jackson is too beautiful in the summer. Hopefully this fall.

    Have a great time and I look forward to reading about it.

    Seth

  4. 4 sam June 6, 2008 at 3:07 am

    ahhhh…el camino de Santiago de Compostela! Ralph, we share this love affair with Spain! I am excited about your doing the Camino!

    I can’t wait to hear the stories you will have! I hope you take some photos to express how you are feeling with each step! This time I want one! 🙂

    One place: San Sebastian in El Paiz Vasco, which is near where you begin! it is INSANE…INCREDIBLE!

    Can’t wait to live through your experiences! Live adventure for the rest of us, Ralph!

    – Blue

  5. 5 Yectuani June 7, 2008 at 12:23 am

    My dear friend!!! I’m so happy to hear about you. I was thinking to send you an e-mail, today… Nina: Los mejores deseos en tu viaje/busqueda/encuentro. Se te extrana mucho en la casa: las platicas y los capuccinos. Nuestros caminos tendran que coincidir de nuevo. Un abrazo enorme. Mucha suerte en barcelona, para empezar!

    sunny wishes.

    yekka

  6. 6 Jonny McCormick June 7, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    wow calais.

    I’m not sure if you remember me or not. I worked at Muskoka Woods with you last year, I’m jonny mccormick, from Northern Ireland, camp name Diesel.

    I really hope that this experience is more than you are hoping for. It sounds fantastic, and I applaud your courage for stepping into the unknown and seeking deeper to know the heartbeat of God.

    I hope you have a beautiful time, and I look forward to following this blog faithfully.

  7. 7 calaismarie June 16, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    oh man, i JUST figured out how to both view and reply to my comments on here – sorry i haven´t been doing so before now.

    TERRY: of course i remember you! 🙂 watch for a full post answer to your questions. i´ve been thinking about them a lot. good questions – seriously.

    WOLFGANG: good to hear from you! what are you doing in jackson??

    YECTUANI: estoy tan contenta de has escrito! estoy aprendiendo muy rapido, pero para escribir es mas dificil ahora que hablar porque no se como se scrive nada… ayayay! que haces ahora? hasta cuando vas a quedarte en toronto – lo sabes?

    JONNY: of course i remember you as well – are you coming back to the woods this year? thanks for the kind wishes – hopefully i´ll see you the last two weeks of camp.


Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


