the ridiculous measures we go to

when i´m unsure of what i´m doing or how to say it in spanish it seems that my security measure is to become either overly-shy or (more often) really stiff-faced and stand-offish. my immediate response to myself (yes, i talk to myself often…sometimes even in spanish 😉 is to remind myself that for the most part, people here aren´t all smiley and overly friendly like in the states, but i quickly realize that´s an excuse.

my solution: maybe i can simply try to be ME regardless of the country and the language that me happens to be speaking. What on earth am i so scared of? That they´ll realize I´m american? I´m so ridiculous sometimes.

side note on whether i appear american or not: this morning a woman (who had just chewed out a guy for having his dog on the beach where it´s prohibited) came and ranted to me for LITERALLY 2 minutes. apparently i smiled, laughed, or agreed at the right times because she NEVER realized that i had NO idea what she was saying. well…the sense, yes. but the words? not a clue.
i couldn´t stop giggling after she left.

3 Responses to “the ridiculous measures we go to”


  1. 1 Alli Rogers June 23, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    what is an alburgue? a hostel of some sort? Teach me in the pilgrim ways…

  2. 2 Alli Rogers June 23, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    I figured it out.

    “In Spain this type of accommodation is called a refugio or an albergue, both of which are similar to youth hostels”

    🙂

  3. 3 calaismarie June 23, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    yes maám – you got it! MOST of the albergues are only for pilgrims, but some (i´ve found out) are just like hostels. tonight, my albergue is actually a franciscan monestery!! i have keys to a freakin´ monestery! chances are i´m going to post on that tomorrow…


Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


