talk about strange

Last night I slept in a hostel in Unquera. The woman at the desk, albeit a bit strange, was wonderfully helpful and gracious. The kind of woman my mother would hold as a friend – the right kind of quirky.

Chus was her name and she gave me a discount, talked slowly and clearly – but not demeaningly so like some – and not only gave me directions as to where to eat, but sent me with a note saying to take care of me please (I got a free coffee and a cheapened price out of the deal!). Then she invited me for a shot in the breakfast area – Jerez dulce de Gloria (Sherry typical to her providence of Andalucia). It was quite good, and the gesture was so generous.

I retired to my room (number 206) and had a shower and a nap (yes, I’m now accustomed to the schedule here). I walked around a bit before the restaurant’s kitchen opened at the normal dinner time of 9pm. Had dinner. Walked a bit and was greeted at the hostel door by Chus who had a chair ready for me. We chatted for nearly an hour about everything from food to men to global warming and poetry. She knew precisely when to explain a word and when I had understood perfectly (that’s not normal).

Anyway, after exchanging information (I can’t wait to read her blog. Apparently she’s schizophrenic, which partially explains her oddities and will certainly make for interesting subject matters) I retired to my room yet again.

Here’s where it gets strange.

My key didn’t work.

I tried and tried and finally looked at the key tag…umm…205. Seriously. But it had worked earlier! I tried for a few more minutes (mostly because I wasn’t sure how I was going to explain this one with my level of Spanish) and finally gave up and went back downstairs.

The best I could come up with was (in Spanish) “um…a little strange…and I’m not sure exactly how to explain this with my limited Spanish, but before I opened room 206 with key 205. Apparenly I can’t see. And now, of course the key doesn’t work, but all my things are in room 206.” He looked at me like I was nuts (let’s hope that’s what I ACTUALLY said!), but gave me key 206 and I went back to my room.

I feel like I’m in the Twilight Zone!

0 Responses to “talk about strange”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


