a new hunt

i should let you know that i´m feeling great about my decision to take a turn. now i´m just weighing out the endless list of options, trying to decide what best suits my purpose right now by way of financial, emotional, physical, and spiritual needs.

for now, my plight seems to be in rounding up all my various boxes i had sent to Santiago. I started out with one – the things i wanted here to travel with after my pilgrimage. sent it to santiago first thing. then two other times i lightened my load.

well…after all that, it turns out that they only keep packages as such for a maximum of 15 days (which i´ve well exceeded) so ONE of them (with no return address) is still in santiago. one of them is HOPEFULLY on it´s way to my dad´s house in iowa, though i´m not sure if they would actually return a package all the way to the US (dad, keep your eyes peeled and let me know if it arrives). and the third was returned back to my starting point at the Twelve Tribes in Irún.

moreover, it turns out that the post office can´t simply send my package to me elsewhere, so it looks like i´m off to santiago to retrieve the first of my packages. i guess now my treasure hunt has gone from yellow arrows to green boxes!

2 Responses to “a new hunt”


  1. 1 Kate July 14, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    miss calais…
    i’ve been reading your blog frequently since brian had the pleasure of seeing you in spain. I know he really enjoyed the time you guys had, and i’m thankful that he could be blessed by a beautiful soul like yours. i’ve been challenged by some of the things you’ve written; about loving and serving, especially in this corporate world, and its hard no matter where you are to feel as though you are going in the “proper” direction. Its good to know that our decisions are blessed when we are in the sovereign will of God, and that you are making right decisions. As i sit here in my cubicle this morning, i’m surrounded by quotes that i’ve posted around me to remind myself of greater things, and I wanted to tell you a few, to maybe, just a little bit, encourage you as you keep walking your journey:

    “Whatever you can do, or dream you can, BEGIN IT. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.” {Goethe}

    “One can never consent to creep when one feels an impulse to soar…” {Helen Keller}

    (there are so many that i want to write to you… but i fear being cliché..)

    “that was a memorable day for me, for it made great changes in me. but, it is the same way with any life. imagine one selected day struck out of it, and think how different its course would have been. pause you who read this, and think for a moment the long chain of iron or gold, of thorns or flowers, that would never have bound you, but for the formation of the first link on one memorable day.” {Charles Dickens}

    “Discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.” {Marcel Proust}

    and my favorite… I’ve loved it for many years, and I think you have a good handle on it…

    “for a long time it seemed to me that life was about to begin – real life. but there was always some obstacle in the way, something to be gotten through first, some unfinished business, time still to be served, a debt to be paid. at last it dawned on me that these obstacles were my life. this perspective has helped me to see there is no way to happiness. happiness is the way. so treasure every moment you have and remember that time waits for no one. Happiness is a journey, not a destination. {Souza}

    best of luck with the rest of your journey, wherever it takes you. you know you always have a home to visit in des moines if you’re around 🙂 we’ll drink some good spanish wine, and brian will attempt some form of tapas… des moines style.

  2. 2 Alli Rogers July 14, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    When I read that line, from yellow arrows to green boxes, I remembered bits of my dream from last night!

    In my dream I woke up in the middle of the night at home, and although “home” was with Kirk, it took the shape of our old CF house on South Lawn (which “home” often does in my dreams for some reason) Anyway, I walked outside to find a troupe of dogs under the deck. two puppies, one had a collar, one did not, and eventually two adults. They were not friendly to me, but they seemed so normal when I watched them through the window, wrestling in the grass. AND THEN… not sure how this all happened, but I found myself under the deck following green arrows (I’m positive they were green) and then I was in Spain with you and we were biking. But I had extra stuff with me and kept falling behind. A water bottle, a phone, etc. my hands kept holding those things instead of the handlebars. We were riding around a city following the arrows until we found a tree covered path that was next to a railroad track. And that is really all I remember. Jeepers. I’m now thinking I should have emailed you that but since it’s all out there i’ll just post it. 🙂 I suppose any implications it has are not all that surprising. But I do think it’s interesting that the arrows were green. Miss you,
    alli


Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


