I’m not here but everyone else is

I’m not sure where my head was today, but I seem to have lost the ability to problem solve (I’ll blame it on the language barrier…just kidding…) And even though I’ve now taken the LEAST likely route, at least I’m moving forward. Oh goodness. Too much to explain.  (I’m not being figurative, so don’t read too far into this one)

Anyway, on a more interesting note, today I’ve seen an unbelievable amount of friend look-alikes. Seriously around every corner…Lauren Abbott, Mike Davis, Ruthie Sayles, Gabe Pigg, Jonathan Davis, Caleb Killingsworth, Kevin Oswalt…

And all day all I’ve wanted is chips and salsa. (Syd, that’s 110% YOUR fault and you can’t even deny it)

Other than that…toodalooo (gotta make it make to the albergue before 9pm cufew. Ummm…what country am I in again??)

1 Response to “I’m not here but everyone else is”


  1. 1 Seth July 14, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Interesting reading, Calais. I’ve been going through some similar thoughts. There’s nothing wrong with fun and adventure, but no selfish pursuit can ever give us the fulfillment that serving others does. I had decided to spend next summer taking the Eurail around, and while I’m sure it’d have been a great experience, I know I’d still have the feeling that there has to be more to life than seeing the world. So much of contemporary Christian thinking is about one’s personal relationship with Christ that the idea of community and spending and being spent as Paul said for our fellow man and the cause of Christ seems totally neglected. God gives us gifts not so that we can parade them but rather use them to minister to the body and show the world what true love is. I’m not sure what God will have me do, but I’m hoping he’ll prepare me for some mission work as well, either in Africa or the 10/40 window for next summer (or sooner if he so wills). I may not be worthy of such an honor, but all we can do is try and serve God the best we know how.

    Sorry to hijack your blog, and I hope you don’t take this as me preaching to you. I’m glad to hear of your decision and hope God blesses you as you seek his will.


Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


