metro

everyone keeps telling me it’s impossible to live in LA without a car, but i think maybe people say that because they’ve never tried.

my first attempt at using los angeles public transit ensued this morning. i looked up my route on the incredibly simple online routefinder the metro provides. easy breezy.

i wasn’t sitting at my stop for more than 2 minutes when i saw my bus coming down the road.  however, as it breezed past me i realized i should probably pay better attention to the street signs instead of simply stopping and waiting at the first stop i pass once i knew i was in the right area.

i walked down a couple blocks to the correct stop and found some illegible signs bolted to the pole.  as much as i pondered them, they provided absolutely zero help.  so instead i asked carlos – the mexican man waiting on the bench.  in incredibly hasty spanish, he told me what i should do and then promptly hopped on his newly arrived bus after a handshake and a hearty “buena suete!”

fortunately, the next bus was mine and aside from my spacy 1/4 mile walk in the wrong direction at the other end, i enjoyed a wonderful day in santa monica with an old friend.

my concusion: metro is perfectly do-able. i just need to get my OWN head out of the clouds!

0 Responses to “metro”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


