living food

i know most of anyone who might read these is thinking i’m nuts for ever even considering a raw diet (or else you’re just baffled as to what it is, even).  well, regardless, i must give an update because it’s surprising even myself.

if you know me, you know i have a ridiculous sweet tooth, and my favorite things are usually 90% white flour and sugar. that’s not to say that i eat them nonstop, but i certainly have my fair share.  anyway, i’ve been eating raw since last wednesday, but i’m doing it for lent so i can take sundays free (according to some).  at first i wasn’t going to, but then i caved to my weakness – free mexican food (my roommate offered to buy my meal if i’d go get it and let him keep watching entourage).

now mexican is my favorite.  as in…i could eat Las Margaritas daily (especially if it’s with my sister ashley!)  but surprisingly (and SO dissappointingly – is that a word?!) it  was 100% unsatisfying.

i have this problem where i finish my food regardless of how much i’m actually enjoying it.  i couldn’t even eat half of my super-small meal.  i actually couldn’t even bring it to my mouth it seemed so disgusting. and of course i felt like crap the rest of the night and this morning i was actually nausious.

unsatisfied after dinner i got a vegan chocolate chip cookie at whole foods and couldn’t even finish THAT!!  it was so disappointing and i’ve always LOVED their vegan chocolate chip cookies!  all i wanted was a blackberry!  can you believe that?  (ash, i’m sure YOU can)

this is getting weird.

3 Responses to “living food”


  1. 1 Clare March 2, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Wow. Im glad this is going so well for you!!!!

  2. 2 Ash March 3, 2009 at 4:46 am

    Wow, awesome story!

    I went through the same thing!

    As you probably knew, i was totally addicted to icecream, chocolate, and pasta/rice. I never thought I could live without these things.

    But i never told myself that when i went to raw foods. I just acted like i was going on a break.

    But after a certain period of time, I never wanted them again!

    I never ever EVER thought that i would crave things like ROMAINE LETTUCE or CELERY. But it happened as i simplified my diet!

    I have a huuuuuuuuuge sweet tooth which is why i do so well on the high fruit diet. i stick to a high fruit, low fat diet. it is the most optimal for energy and well-being for my body. I love it.

    I’m glad you went through this. It’s really nice to experience things like this, because now you truly know how those foods MAKE YOU FEEEEL!!!

    Once you are into the raw lifestyle for a little bit, your taste buds become SO PURE. You find that you don’t need condiments and spices to make your food yummy. You start to crave the whole food in its natural form.

    If you crave cook food and cave in, it may not taste like it always used to. I’ve heard of MANY raw foodists who ate their favorite cooked food and they thought it tasted gross and bland. it turned them off for life.

    Not saying that you won’t return to cooked food after lent, but hope you know what you are getting yourself into! =) (meaning… raw food may make you feel so good that you may end up doing this longer!? who knows.)

    I love you, Calais and I am so proud of you. I am seriously SUPER excited that you are doing this!

  3. 3 Ash March 3, 2009 at 4:47 am

    Oh, just realized you have the link for http://www.raw-food-health.net…. I LOVE THAT SITE! I also really like http://www.rawschool.com


Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


