tumbleweed

Wow.  I receieved this as a comment (thank you Ryan!) on another post about houses and camping and sustainable lodging.  i’m nowhere near wanting a house for myself right now, but this project is incredible:

Jay Schafer builds homes between 65 and 837 square feet (aka smaller than some people’s closets).  I love the idea of living this way.

I think the sheer size of the United States has drastically effected the way we live here.  We have so much space (as compared to Europe) to spread out into, but does that really mean we should or must?

Call me a romantic, but I’ve always loved feeling like I’m sleeping in some sort of fort.  My favorite apartment of all times was built like a treehouse and had more square footage as exterior decks than what was actually enclosed.  Maybe this is a way to recall all that childhood wonder into our lives.

2 Responses to “tumbleweed”


  1. 1 Ashley March 22, 2009 at 10:51 am

    ohhhhhh calais i love you!

    I would love an apartment built like a treehouse! wow!

    Ever since i was little I wanted to live in a very simple, SMALL house. I don’t need all that “STUFF” that everyone puts in their house. Just enough room to sleep is good enough for me. I would be perfectly OK with living in a tent for a loooooong period of time…. and i just might do that! =)

  2. 2 RyMo March 22, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    ha. Glad you liked the Tumbleweeds. Aren’t they amazing? Why is it that the smaller things are, the cooler they are? But seriously, how could anyone NOT want to live in one of these? Well, actually I guess I can see why. But I’ve always been rather enamored with small, efficient, livable spaces.

    And I think you’re right on two accounts. In the US we like the idea of big, sprawling houses, with lots of space that we never use but have to maintain. And on top of that, these types of houses and neighborhoods end up isolating us from each other by keeping us occupied with our houses (and working to pay for them) instead of talking to each other.

    This is in contrast to much of the rest of the world that emphasizes (often out of necessity) smaller, more communal living and consequently more life lived in public spaces like parks and squares and markets, and thus more time interacting with people.

    And you’re right, forts ARE cool.


Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


