believe in the run

You’ve all been so good at supporting me in the last few weeks, and now I get the chance to help support someone else.  My friend, Rob Papandrea, has entered the Nike “Believe in the Run Contest” and he needs our votes.  Right now he’s number one (can you believe it!?) but there are a few people really close behind him, so we need to give him some leeway.  You can vote once a day, so put it on your calendar.  Think of it like brushing your teeth or something.

Here’s an excerpt from Rob’s blog for why he “believes in the run”:

On the morning of June 5, 2007, my mother succumbed to a seven year battle with lung cancer and I spent the rest of that day beginning to realize my life had changed forever with the loss my second parent. The following morning, I woke up with a ton of emotions: sadness, emptiness, and anger. The anger was from the years that I allowed my mother to smoke and not challenge her decision. I lived 3,000 miles away in LA and decided it was not my place to confront her. On that morning the anger built so much I just decided to run. I couldn’t tell you how far, how fast or for how long I ran, but it felt good. I ran to clear my mind. I ran to rid myself of the anger. I ran through the pain and the tears. I ran to find peace with myself and all my emotions. I spent a month in NYC that summer with my family and I ran more than I ever had in my life.

-VOTE FOR ROB DAILY HERE-

0 Responses to “believe in the run”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


