5.0

an earthquake shook the sprawling city last night precisely 3 minutes before my plane touched down. i feel like a horrible person that i’m so disappointed i missed out on it. But then again something in me loves the irony that i was flying in thinking, “weird…why are all the lights out?” come to find out the epicenter was less than a couple miles from the airport less than a couple minutes from my early arrival. maybe there will be a nice gentle aftershock for me, but hopefully not “the big one” that everyone’s waiting for. i think – in all seriousness – the reason i’m disappointed i missed it is because a big part of me is so scared to experience my first one. and this one would have been perfect – pretty intense, but no damage. it would have helped dispel some of my fears. oh well…next time.

2 Responses to “5.0”


  1. 1 Aaron J May 18, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    I didn’t even feel it way up in NoHo…was in my car at the time!


  1. 1 earthquake! « out on a walk Trackback on May 19, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


