sister

i had the pleasure of spending a lovely week with one of my favorite human beings on the planet: my little sister, caylin.

i can still hear echoes from childhood as my sisters and i spat and bickered and did our seperate things, “be nice to each other…you won’t understand the value of your sisters until your older…friends will come and go but sisters will be with you for life…one day they’ll be your best friends.” i remember thinking, ‘yeah right! no thank you! i’ll do my own thing, make my own friends!’

well, it turns out that adults are sometimes right and clichés are sometimes true: my sisters have become extensions of my own soul.  i’m certain my very existance would change without them.  i can see so much of them in me – because i have worked so hard to put it there.  caylin teaches me about vibrance and freedom and grace and beauty (and only partly in the physical sense).  chelsi teaches me servanthood and peace and gentleness and innocence.  ashley teaches me strength and responsibility and family and perseverance.

we are all so incredibly different, but i think it was no accident that we are in the same family – sharpening and encouraging one another for our whole lives.  i know i, for one, sure need the wisdom they teach.

caylin and my housemates, sara and eric, at the getty

IMG_8874

all of us last weekend at our cousin’s wedding
caylin, calais, ashley
tayah, chelsi

4303_547508217322_34101870_32308094_5958858_n

1 Response to “sister”


  1. 1 MommaDeb May 30, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    You are an inspriration to us all! we love you! MommaDeb


Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


