finding a home (for now)

The political mess has changed our family trip and in turn it’s changed my personal trip afterwards as well. Dad’s not so comfortable with me going to the mainland alone tomorrow with threats of war breaking out tomorow when zelaya comes back to Honduras. I guess, to be honest, i’m glad he said so because it’s one of those things I know isn’t smart but that I would have done anyway to prove a point to myself.

But now that I’m staying on the island I had to find somewhere else to get involved (easy) as well as a new place to eat, sleep, and way to get around (tough on my budgeted $0 because I’d planned on the orphanage).

In the coffee shop this morning I was chatting with the owner about the upcoming week. A really sweet couple i talk with several times a day overheard my plans. They were so kind in offering their condo for a VERY discounted rate. It’s perfect location and very safe, but still out of my budget.

I sat down at my table outside the cafe after having looked at their condo and said a silent prayer asking for a safe place to stay and a cheap scooter rental. A few minutes later the other couple in the coffee shop came walking out and the man got my attention as they walked by:

“so’d you rent a place??”
“no…it’s beautiful and super generous but still out of my price range…I’ll probably just look in west end or something”
“well, if you’re intersted, there’s a house you can stay at for free if you’re willing to clean it. It hasn’t been lived in for months and needs a good dusting.”
“um….yes!!”

We exchanged info and I’m going to look at it this afternoon.  Dad and the rest of the fam seem to think it’s too good to be true, but i’ve found that schepticism gets me nowhere in my ‘line of work’.  And free housing certainly sounds like a pretty incredible blessing – even if it’s a complete shack! I’ll let you know, but for now just know I don’t have to sleep on the beach.

2 Responses to “finding a home (for now)”


  1. 1 MommaDeb July 4, 2009 at 7:53 am

    So you’ve moved from L.A. or are you just temporarily staying?


  1. 1 not a shack « out on a walk Trackback on July 5, 2009 at 1:05 pm

Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


