kefir

i’m not lactose intolerant, but i sure feel a lot better when i’m not having much/any dairy.  when i’m not eating dairy i always miss yogurt, but i won’t do the soy junk and can’t stand the taste of goat’s milk yogurt.  i know this is a ridiculous thing to blog on, but i just tried it and i’m reeling at how good it is.  and at what this means for all the non-dairy folks out there!

COCONUT MILK KEFIR ROCKS MY FREAKING SOCKS OFF!

2 Responses to “kefir”


  1. 1 JD September 21, 2009 at 8:39 am

    I’m lactose intolerant. Only because I did a research thesis on milk and stopped drinking it for so long that my body normalized and won’t tolerate dairy anymore. I can handle cheese, but that’s about it. Soy and rice milk suck. Lactaid is okay, but its still got all the nasty contents of milk. Anyway, I’m always looking for good dairy substitutions.

    Did you make your own kefir? I like the sound of the coconut milk being used.

    (PS-I had the yellow coconut curry at PM’s in Nashville last week… a-maz-ing)

    • 2 calaismarie September 21, 2009 at 8:06 pm

      ha you guys are on a hilarious PM craze, eh? 😉

      yeah i think i did the same thing – stayed away from it for long enough to become intolerant (which prob means i only ever TOLERANT, know what i mean?) i’m an almond milk fan – Pacific Organics makes a great one, but it’s full of sugar (albeit organic cane juice). I drink the Almond Breeze unsweetened kind, but it’s not organic. i try and steer clear of soy. I’ve never tried lactaid, actually.

      I didn’t make my own Kefir this time – I don’t have the setup for it right now, but I’d love to start in the future. Whole foods has a few different kinds. The kind I got was made by So Delicious (not organic :/) http://www.turtlemountain.com/products/Coconut_Kefir_Strawberry.html b/c it was the only non-dairy non-goat kind whole foods carried. and it was surprisingly affordable as well.


Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


