setting out

by the time i arrived in denver i had a voicemail to give them a call at the desk at great lakes airlines.  my flight was, in fact, uncancelled and all would go as planned.  when i finally arrived at their desk in phoenix i was told the truth: someone had actually played a prank and sent out an email saying that the plane would be out of order all day.  not so funny.  for the airline or the passengers.  fortunately nothing could have put off my good mood at that point, so we all had a good laugh about it.

after a bumpy star-studded ride on the beech 1900D turboprop with only one other passenger and a clear aisle straight out to the windsheild on the front of the plane, i stepped out of the page airport to find two vagabonds playing soccer in the vacant parking lot.  smiles and hugs and cheerful words.  we walked towards patrick’s truck.

“i set a hippie trap for you”

i looked down at donnie’s words to find a Naked Green Juice and a banana.  donnie can always make me smile. but even more than my gratitude for the ‘hippie trap’ was my awe at the new moon’s arizona sky.  jewels.  i haven’t seen skies like this in months.  we rode the 40 miles to the put-in with the moon roof open and the windows down.

some of the group were already sound asleep in their bags, but i made headlamped introductions to the few straglers before tucking into our sacks ourselves.  it was tough getting my body to sleep – possibly due to excitement, possibly due to the rocks under my micro thermarest, possibly due to the billion-bulbed lightlight hung in the sky.  i had no idea how much i missed being uncomfortable.

2 Responses to “setting out”


  1. 1 alli November 10, 2009 at 11:22 am

    oh that last line makes me want to say shit. there I said it. for all to read. !!!! that is exactly how I feel about James. we have learned so many parallel lessons in such different ways over our friendship. thank you for this snapshot, it gives me just the inspiration I need for my cowrite this afternoon.

  2. 2 alli November 10, 2009 at 11:23 am

    and the hippie trap made me laugh out loud


Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


