knitting

i’m re-learning how to knit.  and really what i’m learning is that i never knew how to knit in the first place.  i simply knew how to fake a scarf.  i suppose the scarf itself was always quite real…but having called it “knitting” might have been giving myself too much credit.

amy spent several hours last night patiently fielded my questions and freakouts as she taught me how to knit two legwarmers simultaneously on a circular knitting needle.  in all honesty, she knitted the cuffs but allowed me to pretend i was “helping” ever once in awhile.  fortunately i’m at a spot where i feel like i can proceed alone, finally.  which is a good thing because i’m only in iowa (and near my teacher) for a few days.

hopefully i get the hang of this thing.  knitting seems like a useful skill.  as useful as woodworking and basic plumbing handiness.  who knows when i may need to know how to knit my own socks.

2 Responses to “knitting”


  1. 1 Wiloe May 31, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Leg Warmers !!!! Sign me up ! xo xo

  2. 2 Johnni June 3, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Hey, I’m guessing you’ve already heard of it, but I’m thinking you could do some awesome things with “plarn.” Check it out…


Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


