wildfire

wildfire broke out yesterday west of boulder in the foothills, and due to heavy winds it spread rapidly to 3500 acres. boulder, proper, isn’t in danger and the calm wind today will, hopefully, give them a chance to contain it. several structures have burned, but they’re not even estimating how many or whether they’re homes. we watched a completely black plume burn for quite some time yesterday on the eastern flank of the fire. it was most certainly a ‘structure’. the news report this morning mentioned that some of the structures are almost certainly homes of some of the firefighters. i can’t even imagine battling that fire knowing that your own home has already been leveled.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Response to “wildfire”


  1. 1 Wiloe September 9, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Just thinking about you. We started our new class today. 17 kids !! It is too many, but we will make it work. 12 was so ideal. Gail has given me a new title as “curriculum director” of the school and I am happy about that, but all of a sudden I am lacking in inspiration. What do I really want to do with that ? Wish you were around just for a couple of weeks so you could force me out of my headspace block. I love your new dog. That is just wonderful for you and he is so cute. Are you happy ? How are things going for you these days. I would love to hear how you are. Someday I would love to come and visit Bolder. I bet it is so different than here. Thanks for your blog, as usual it makes me happy. Take care…. xoxo Wiloe p.s. I totally forgot that this is not a message for just you…DUH ! I am posting it anyway because I am a geek.


Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


