slow

Today I unloaded a dishwasher.

One.

Dish.

At.

A.

Time.

I had a 2-mo old sleeping in a moby on my chest and needed the dish unloading to do my task as quietly as possible. It was tedious at first, but as I started to become frustrated with the lack of efficiency, I realized I’d happened upon (and was about to miss!) something so wonderful:  Slowness.

I limited my hands to one dish each and quietly placed items in their proper home one by one. I rejected my desire to turn it into a game or a challenge and instead let it become a meditation. A prayer, even. Enjoying the silence. Enjoying how capable my body is. Enjoying the sweet breath of the child dreaming beneath my chin.

And then, an even richer layer revealed itself. As the inertia of the day/week/month came to a halt, my mind began to fill with words, paintings, drawings, space, peace, love. I’ve had so very little to write in the past few months (perhaps longer), but the minute I forced slowness it all came flooding in. My tendency is to rush through mundane tasks like unloading the dishwasher, folding laundry, vacuuming the floor…but I’m going to make an effort to slow my mind and really take part in them from time to time. I’d love to invite you to do the same thing. Slow something down and see what happens. I’m betting you won’t regret it.

 

0 Responses to “slow”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

lenticular?

---------------------------------

Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.
-Kahlil Gibran

posts by month

posts by category


